James Righton

James Righton is a London based artist, composer and producer.

He formed the Klaxons in 2006 with Jamie Reynolds and Simon Taylor-Davis, he sang and played keyboards. The band won the Mercury Prize in 2007 for their debut album Myths of The Near Future. They disbanded in 2015.

He releases music under the name Shock Machine. He has one album out, self titled, which was released in 2017 on Marathon.

Righton scored the short film ‘William’ by Simon Amstell in 2015. He worked alongside Tom Rowlands for The Life of Galileo directed by Joe Wright at the Young Vic in 2017. In 2018 Righton scored the film Benjamin by Simon Amstell. Benjamin premiered at the 2018 BFI London Film Festival.

Righton co-wrote “All Rights Reversed” from 2007’s Grammy Award-winning album We Are the Night by The Chemical Brothers. He co-wrote “Deeper” (w/ MNEK) (feat. House Gospel Choir) by Riton. He contributed guitar, piano and wurlitzer to Arctic Monkeys “Tranquility Base Hotel & Casino”. James co-wrote the lead single “The Third Degree” from Honeyblood’s 2019 album In Plain Sight.

James Righton released his solo album The Performer on March 20th 2020.